Tourism and hospitality
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+tourism +management
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +tourism +management +Adelaide
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Tourism and hospitality
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Tourism and hospitality
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| APAFT Australian public | Provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities | Help and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen |
| Business source complete | Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. It also includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen |
| Emerald management xtra | A full text database that includes reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Emerald Management Xtra search screen. |
| Leisure tourism database | This online database provides information for leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and the cultural industries. Includes regular news (updated weekly), reviews, conference proceedings, full text database to journal articles and selected books, calendar of courses, workshops and conferences, links to related websites | Help and tips are available online from the Leisure Tourism Database search screen |
| Hospitality and tourism complete | Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia. | Help and tips are available online from the Hospitality and tourism complete database search screen |
Complete list of Tourism databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example touris* and environment
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
tourism, tourists, travel, travellers
environment, environmental impact, ecotourism, sustainable development
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
touris* or travellers
and
environmental impact or ecotourism
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example touris* finds tourism, tourist, tourists and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Hospitality net An international site providing links to associations, industry surveys, press releases, discussion groups, new products and resources
- Intute: social sciences Gateway to online hospitality, leisure, sport and tourism information for students, staff and researchers in higher education
- John Beech's travel and tourism information gateway Portal for online sources relevant to travel and tourism, maintained by John Beech, Coventry Business School
- HLTSN (Hospitality, Leisure, Sport & Tourism Network) Established by the Higher Education Academy the site includes current activities of the academy, as well as publications, case studies and resource guides
- Tourism internet resources Links to government, ecotourism and Aboriginal websites, and travel guides by state/territory, developed by Monash University Library
- Tourism research links International directory on tourism that links to organisations which manage, consult, or research tourism, as well as tourism schools, created by Rene Waksberg.
- Aboriginal Tourism Australia Primary organisation for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander tourism within Australia. Includes information on symposiums, Australian tours, art and a media centre
- World Tourism Organization Includes links to information from official tourism organisations around the world, emphasising trade, information and publications
- Tourism Australia Australian government statutory authority responsible for tourism marketing. Includes links to events, statistics, research, marketing campaigns and annual reports
- Tourism Commission Includes statistical data, papers, reports, visitor information and current tourism projects. From Hong Kong
- Tourism Futures International A consulting company that provides free access to monthly news and data updates, covering Asia Pacific, Australian and New Zealand
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team