UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Aboriginal and Islander Art



Starting point for Aboriginal and Islander Art

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Aboriginal Art Directory Online Resourcescontains information about artists, vendors, news and resources.

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Aboriginal and Islander Art

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Aboriginal and Islander Art

Databases Notes Help
AVADAccess is via OzBiogs. Australian Visual Arts Database is a unique source of biographies on over 22,000 Australian visual artists, including over 5,800 indigenous artists. It contains information about the Australian visual arts to curators, researchers, librarians, gallery staff and students.not available.
ARTbibliographies modernAccess is via CSA and provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. It covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.Available via the CSA help & support pages link
Design and applied arts indexAccess is via CSA. In addition to the periodicals index, contains four directories: periodicals database, education database, organizations database, and museums/archives database. Available via the CSA help & support pages link
Indigenous AustraliaAccess is via Informit. Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet & telecommunications facilities and Communities. Available via the Informit help pages link
AHB-ATSIS - Australian Heritage Bibliography – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset Access is via Informit. Covers Australian natural and cultural environment topics specific to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. Available via the Informit help pages link
APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs Full TextAccess is via Informit. Australian public affairs full text is based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) providing indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities. Available via the Informit help pages link

Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Aboriginal and Islander Art

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Community Art Galleries and Artist Co-Operatives

  • Australian Art Print Network Network of five artist co-operatives. The site includes works, portfolios and exhibitions, as well as providing online fact sheets, news and publications
  • Papunya Tula Artists Owned and directed by Aboriginal people from the Western Desert, predominantly of the Luritja/Pintupi. Includes online gallery, history, FAQs and links
  • Warmun Art Centre Owned and managed by Warmun artists from the Kimberly, with all income returned to the community. Includes centre information, exhibitions, a gallery and artist profiles

Commercial Art Galleries and Stores

  • Artlandish Aboriginal Art Gallery Work from indigenous artists across Australia. Also provides an online resource centre, with factsheets on indigenous art and artist photographs
  • Art Mob - Aboriginal fine art Specialises in Tasmanian Aboriginal art, jewellery and baskets. Includes an online gallery, artist portfolios and information about current and upcoming exhibitions
  • Central Art Aboriginal art store Aboriginal art from the Australian central and western deserts. Includes information on aboriginal art and culture, artist profiles, arbituaries and online exhibitions
  • Coo-ee Aboriginal Art Gallery Has curated over 300 Indigenous exhibitions around the world, including Paris, Zurich and New York. Features an online gallery, archive and publications
  • Gallery Gabrielle Pizzi Melbourne, Australia. Exhibits contemporary Australian Aboriginal art and includes a link to an online gallery
  • Mbantua Aboriginal Art Gallery Showcases paintings of 250 indigenous artists, including Emily Kngwarreye, Minnie Pwerle and Gloria Petyarre. Also features artist profiles and upcoming tours
  • Red Sand Art Gallery Established in 1998, Red Sands deals in fine Aboriginal art from the Utopia Homelands, Alice Springs and the western desert. The site also includes a featured artist page
  • Vivien Anderson Gallery Based in Melbourne. The site includes images of artist’s work, current past and future exhibitions and artist profiles

Associations and Organisations

  • Artsource: Artists' Foundation of WA Delivers core activities on behalf of individual artist members, to improve the sustainability and profile of the art sector. The site details their activities and services
  • Injalak Arts and Crafts Association Located in Gunbalanya Western Arnhem Land, the Association aims to promote and preserve indigenous art. The site includes their activities and samples of work
  • Koorie Heritage Trust Inc Aims to preserve, the living culture of south-east Australian indigenous people. The site includes information about their collections, programs and projects

Industry Management, Policy and Fair Trade

  • Artists in the Black Hosted by the Arts Law Centre of Australia, this site provides a variety of resources and information about the legal rights of indigenous artists and organisations
  • Indigenous Art Code of Conduct The approved commercial code of conduct for the Indigenous art industry, created following recommendations of a Senate Inquiry report


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team