Education
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Encyclopedia of education | Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. (Gale Reference Library) |
| World education encyclopedia | Detailed survey of educational systems of 233 countries. (Gale Virtual Reference Library) |
| Encyclopedia of distance learning | Covers issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning, by 450 international contributors from 50 countries. (Gale Virtual Reference Library) |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+education +philosophy
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +education +philosophy +Australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Education
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| A+ Education | An Australian index and abstracting service providing some full text access to journal articles, reports, conference papers and other education related information. | Help is available from the Informit search screen |
| Education a SAGE full text collection | Provides full text access to 22 serials. | Help and tips are available from the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database page and the search screen. |
| ERIC | US based resource containing indexing and abstracting of thousands of research and technical reports. And hundreds of journals. Available via Ebscohost or Cambridge Scientific Abstracts | Help and tips are available from Ebscohost or Cambridge Scientific Abstracts search screens. |
Complete list of Education databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example education and theory
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
education, learning, pedagogy
theory, philosophy
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
education OR learning OR pedagogy
and
theor* OR philosophy
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example theor* finds theory, theories, theoretic, theoretical and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- BUBL : education links Links to selected resources for education, produced by the Bulletin Board for Libraries from the Andersonian Library, Strathclyde University, Scotland
- EdNA Education Network Australia (edna) is a joint initiative of the education departments of the Australian Government and state and territory governments. It provides free access to news, resources, networks and online tools for educators.
- Catholic Education South Australia The website provides a range of information about the policies, processes and services offered by the Catholic Education Office and the South Australian Commission for Catholic Schools.
- Becta is the government agency responsible for effective and innovative use of technology throughout learning.
- Every Child Matters website has resources and research publications to support the 'Every Child Matters' programme
- National Curriculum website contains information about primary and secondary education (Key stage 1 - 4)
- TeacherNet website lists resources for teachers to enhance their knowledge of teaching
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team