Adult and Vocational Education
Starting point for
Adult and Vocational Education
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+education +vocation
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +education +vocation +adult
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Adult and Vocational Education
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Adult and Vocational Education
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| A+ Education | An Australian index and abstracting service providing some full text access to journal articles, reports, conference papers and other education related information. | Help is available from the Informit search screen |
| Education a SAGE full text collection | Provides full text access to 22 serials. | Help and tips are available from the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database page and the search screen. |
| ERIC | US based resource containing indexing and abstracting of thousands of research and technical reports. And hundreds of journals. Available via Ebscohost or Cambridge Scientific Abstracts | Help and tips are available from Ebscohost or Cambridge Scientific Abstracts search screens. |
Complete list of Education databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example vocation and teaching
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
vocation, career, employment
teaching, learning, education
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
vocation OR career OR employment
and
teaching OR learning OR education* OR training
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example education* finds education, educations, educational and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Adult Literacy and Numeracy Australian Research Consortium The Adult Literacy and Numeracy Australian Research Consortium represents a national collaboration between five university-based research centres, based on a collaborative research management model designed to respond to state-based needs. (ALNARC website)
- Australian Council for Adult Literacy Promotes issues regarding Adult literacy and numeracy policy and practice, provides leadership in Australian debate on adult literacy and numeracy practices and policy, promotes adult literacy and numeracy issues in the broader contexts of adult literacy and numeracy education, and advocates on behalf of equitable adult literacy and numeracy provision for all Australians
- Australian Vocational Education and Training Research Association (AVETRA) is Australia's only national, independent association for research in vocational education and training, bringing together research stakeholders and researchers from the TAFE, university, industry and government sectors. Includes links to fulltext of some conference papers
- Centre for Adult Education As an Adult Education Institution, CAE exists to provide learning to the Victorian community through a wide range of programs and services.
- National Centre for Vocational Education Research Australia's national vocational training research and development organisation. It is a centre of research excellence and a key knowledge centre whose core business is analytical research and knowledge communication
- Education-line Electronic texts in education and training provided by the British Education Index.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team