Water sciences
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+water +desalination
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +water +desalination +australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for water sciences
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Compendex | Bibliographic records of thousands of engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering engineering and applied science research | Help and tips are available online from the search screens |
| WATERnetBASE | A collection books and journals about water and water science including an encyclopaedia of water | Simplified help available through the ‘how it works’ link |
| Web of science | Multidisciplinary information from over 8,000 research journals with cited reference searching | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
Complete list of Water databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example purification household
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
purification treatment
domestic household
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
purification or treatment
and
domestic or household
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example purif* finds purify, purification and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- UNESCO - water United Nations’ Education, Science and Cultural organisation, providing information about water with links to many international bodies
- Water structure and science Information about the chemical and physical properties of water from London South Bank University
- SAWater South Australian Water with information about usage, treatment, storm water and the environment
- CSIRO - water Australia’s national science agencies’ site on their water research
- Water quality research Australia A collaborative research centre focusing on drinking water and waste water. The site includes links to CRC for Water Quality Research’s information
- Water footprint Information about world water usage administered by the University of Twente in the Netherlands, publication section contains full text articles and reports
- EPA Government guidelines for water from the United States of America
- Natural Resources Management an Australian Government site that provides information about the implementation of the National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality and the Natural Heritage Trust
- Geoscience Australia provides access to fundamental geospatial information about Australia and links to relevant websites
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team