UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Geology



Starting point for geology

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopediaScientific topics from Wiley, including geology
UCMP Glossary: Geologyfrom the University of California Museum of Palaeontology

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for geology

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for geology

Databases Notes Help
CompendexBibliographic records of thousands of journals, conferences and technical reports covering engineering and applied scienceHelp and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen. Help and search available on each screen
ScienceDirectScienceDirect is a database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journalsHelp available on each screen
Web of ScienceDelivers access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this contentHelp available on search results page. Tutorials available on search pages

Complete list of Geology databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for geology

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Government

  • Geoscience Australia Within the portfolio of Resources, Energy and Tourism, Geoscience Australia plays a critical role by producing geoscientific information and knowledge
  • PIRSA Minerals The South Australia Primary Industries and Resources, Minerals pages, containing geological information on South Australia
  • Geoscience Portal an initiative of the Australian Chief Government Geologists Committee. It is aimed at providing a portal to link the information of the state, territory and federal government geoscience agencies

Professional organisations


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team