UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Industrial / Product Design



Starting point for Industrial / Product Design

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

The PDMA handbook of new product developmentA handbook of new products and product management

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Industrial / Product Design

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Industrial / Product Design

Databases Notes Help
Design and applied arts index In addition to the periodicals index, contains four directories: periodicals database, education database, organizations database, and museums/archives database. Help is available via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts webpage.
Avery Index to architectural periodicalsThe Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Help is available from the Avery webpage.
IcondaICONDA is a bibliographic database covering the worldwide literature of all fields of building construction, construction engineering, architecture and town planning. Help is available from the ICONDA webpage.
Ergonomics AbstractsCurrently 65,600 records in the database. Includes all abstracts published in print title: Ergonomics abstracts since 1986. Help is available from the Metapress webpage.

Complete list of Design databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Industrial / Product Design

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Industrial Designers and Design Companies

  • Marc Newson Design An Australian industrial designer. This site showcases some of his work and provides a short bibliography on the designer.
  • Achille Castiglioni An Italian architect and industrial designer. This site is produced by the Museum of Modern Art
  • Alessi An award winning Italian design company, this site includes the company's history, new products, special projects and designers.
  • Design 4 Plastics Ltd UK based company with extensive experience in the design and development of products, includes examples of their work
  • Raymond Loewy American industrial designer. Includes images of selected works and biographical information.

Organisations

  • The Ergonomics Society UK organisation for professionals using information about people to design for comfort, efficiency and safety.
  • ISO Online International Organization for Standardization is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies.

Product Catalogues

  • SpecSimple.com Provides manufacturing and product information for architects, interior designers, furniture dealers, facility managers.
  • infolink.com.au Profiles new and existing products in the design and the building industry.
  • ReSources.Com Architecture, design, facilities and property management industries rely upon this site for access to the widest range of Contract Interiors Industry products, services and information.
  • Selector.com Australian directory of architectural, interior design, building & construction products.

Ergonomics and Human Factors

  • Ergonomics A searching facility where you can find sites relating to design and ergonomics.
  • Ergonomics in Australia This site includes resources for ergonomics projects, services and links to ergonomic sites all over the world.
  • Ergoworld Provides links to information on office ergonomics, industrial ergonomics, human factors relating to transportation and product design.
  • Bad Human Factors Designs A scrapbook of illustrated examples of things that are hard to use because they do not follow human factors principles.
  • Cornell University Ergonomics Web Focuses on ways to improve usability, comfort, performance and health, through the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces.
  • Usernomics Provides links to relevant internet sites.
  • Human Interface Technology Lab A research and development lab at the University of Washington, the HIT Lab focuses on human computer interfaces and virtual interface technology.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team