Interior Design
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"interior design" +Australia
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"interior design" +Australia +furniture
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Interior Design
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Design and applied arts index | In addition to the periodicals index, contains four directories: periodicals database, education database, organizations database, and museums/archives database. | Help is available via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts webpage. |
| Avery Index to architectural periodicals | The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. | Help is available from the Avery webpage. |
| Ergonomics Abstracts | Currently 65,600 records in the database. Includes all abstracts published in print title: Ergonomics abstracts since 1986. | Help is available from the Metapress webpage. |
Complete list of Design databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example interior design and textiles
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
interior designer, interior architect, house designer, decorat*
textiles, fabric, material
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
interior designer OR house designer OR decorator
and
textiles OR fabric OR material
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example decorat* finds decorate, decorates, decorated, decorator, decorators, decorating and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Intute : arts and humanities : Design Links to a number of resources on design.
- AECasia An architectural and design resource for Asia and the Asian region.
- Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum The collection covers areas of applied arts and industrial designs, drawings and prints, textiles, and wall coverings from around the world.
- Design-engine.com A resource for industrial designers, ID students and anyone interested in design. Includes links to designers, online magazine, firms, and discussion lists (US).
- Dezignare: Interior Design Collective Provides networking and referral resources for consumers, students, educators and professionals (US).
- Interior Design Directory Resource of interior design and feng shui related information, goods and services on the internet (US).
- 168 Feng Shui Advisors Traditional Feng Shui consultancy and education firm, teaching Feng Shui courses in conjunction with the American Feng Shui Institute. Includes links.
- Feng Shui Network An international network for practitioners and those interested in Feng Shui.
- Feng Shui Society A non-profit UK organisation formed to advance feng shui principles and concepts. Includes a links button which lists Feng Shui organisations worldwide.
- Totem Design Offers the latest in design by European and American designers. This site includes an online catalogue, a virtual showroom and information on their designers and manufacturers.
- fabricsandpapers.com Offers fabrics, wallpapers, lighting and design accessories from leading British design houses.
- Interior Internet.com Displays a wide range of furniture and accessories for domestic and commercial interior design purposes, UK.
- KE-ZU Specialises in the sales, marketing and distribution of high quality residential and contract furniture throughout Australia. Wide variety of furniture and lighting available for viewing.
- Luminaire Examples of European designed furniture, lighting and accessories. Includes designer profiles, news and a historical timeline of furniture design.
- InterLight Displays examples of contemporary lighting designs imported from Italy.
- Jam Factory - Contemporary Craft and Design Organisation for the design, production, exhibition and sale of work by both leading and emerging Australian designer/makers. It's emphasis is on fostering the best in South Australian craft and design.
- Denton Corker Marshall Group Provides consulting services in architecture, landscaping, planning, exhibition and interior design, and project management in Australia and overseas.
- Core77 Provides a listing and contact details of design firms from around the world, including Australia.
- ISO Online nternational Organization for Standardization is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies.
- SIDA foundation A trust fund aiming to further interior design and decoration in Australia.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team